IV. CORE COURSE

[CCPOL104]:

(Credits: Theory-04, Tutorial-01)

Theory: 60 Lectures; Tutorial:15 Hrs

Marks: 30 (MSE: 20Th. 1Hr + 5Attd. + 5Assign.) + 70 (ESE: 3Hrs)=100

Pass Marks (MSE:17 + ESE:28)=45

Instruction to Question Setter:

Mid Semester Examination (MSE):

There will be **two** groups of questions in written examinations of 20 marks. **Group A is compulsory** and will contain five questions of **very short answer type** consisting of 1 mark each. **Group B will contain descriptive type five** questions of five marks each, out of which any three are to be answered.

End Semester Examination (ESE):

There will be two groups of questions. Group A is compulsory and will contain two questions. Question No.1 will be very short answer type consisting of five questions of 1 mark each. Question No.2 will be short answer type of 5 marks. Group B will contain descriptive type six questions of fifteen marks each, out of which any four are to be answered.

Note: There may be subdivisions in each question asked in Theory Examinations

The Mid Semester Examination shall have three components. (a) Two Semester Internal Assessment Test (SIA) of 20 Marks each, (b) Class Attendance Score (CAS) of 5 marks and (c) Class Performance Score (CPS) of 5 marks. "Best of Two" shall be applicable for computation of marks for SIA.

(Attendance Upto 75%, 1mark; 75 < Attd. < 80, 2 marks; 80 < Attd. < 85, 3 marks; 85 < Attd. < 90, 4 marks; 90 < Attd, 5 marks).

INDIAN POLITICAL THOUGHT

- 1. Manu: Origin of State, Duties of King
- 2. Kautilya: King, Foreign policy, Saptang theory of state
- 3. Acharya Narendra Dev
- 4. Ram Manohar Lohia.
- 5. Jawahar Lal Nehru.
- 6. Rabindra Nath Tagore: Humanism, & internationalism. M.N. Roy: Radical Humanism
- 7. Mahatma Gandhi: Non-violence, state, women & education.
- 8. Jay Prakash Narayan: party less democracy & total revolution.
- 9. B.R Ambedkar.

Essential Readings

भारतीय राजनीतिक विचारक – पी.के.त्यागी
आधुनिक भारतीय राजनीति चिंतन – वी.पी.वर्मा
आधुनिक भारतीय राजनीति चिंतन – ए.पी.अवस्थी
आधुनिक भारतीय राजनीति चिंतन – बी.एल.फाडिया
Indian Political Thought – Ram Ratan & Ruchi Tyagi
Modern Indian Political Thought – V.P. Verma
Indian Political Thought – R.C. Gupta